Home | Cricket | Football | Golf | Netball | Other | Racing | Rugby | Speedway | Clubs | Gallery | About Us | Contact | Links

  Wheelaghan is the Master of Brean  

EACH year to coincide with the US Masters in Augusta Brean members contest their own version of the event in the guise of the Brean Masters.

Running alongside the April Medal it sees all the divisional winners of the Medals in the previous 12 months compete for the Masters title. For this year only, due to the COVID interruption of last April, it saw the last 24 months of Medal winners eligible to take part. The title goes to be the best score overall on the day out of the qualifiers and this year it saw a clear winner.

Gordy Wheelaghan raced away with Division Three success after a superb nett 63. This gave him a 4 stroke advantage in the Division and a even more convincing 5 stroke win in the Brean Masters. Runner up to Wheelaghan in Division Three was Ian Adams who defeated George Scott after a countback after both scored nett 67's. In the Brean Masters competition it was Chris Baker who was the best of the rest in Wheelaghan's wake with a nett 68.

The Second Division Medal went Steve Hill after his nett 66 and with this win he will get a shot at the Masters in 2022. He ended the day with the biggest divisional winning margin as he was 5 clear of Steve Mason and Jamie Howson. Howson was awarded the runners up prize though after his superior back nine return.

Just one player beat his handicap in the top flight with Dave Porter taking the honours with a nett 68. He finished one clear of Club Champion Dan Broom and two clear of third placed Steve Eley.

Former Club Captain Stewart Garrett was the winner of Round Two of this year's Super Series as he triumphed in Saturday Bogey competition. The 2012 Captain beat the course by 5 and this score was matched by two other players so a countback was needed. Garrett's successor as Club Captain back in 2013 Brian Read and Tim Amy were the other leading players so the computer was set to work on the countback. Garrett won by a nose on the back three holes from Read with Amy missing out narrowly on his first win on the golf course at Brean. He did however enjoy a win on the day as he brought home the winner in the Club Grand National Sweepstake which raised money for the Captain's Charity! Fourth place went to John Cranley ahead of Pete Barton after another countback after both had posted +4 scores.

Mats Mattsson collected the first Seniors silverware to be awarded at Brean post Lockdown as he secured top spot in their April Stableford. The Swede sailed away with Division One success after carding 42 points which was the leading score of the day and therefore won him the Millennium Trophy as well. He was 6 points clear of divisional runner up John Procter who had to hold off Pete Dunn on a countback for that position.

In the Second Division it was a case of saving the best until last. Afternoon starter Bill Davies returned the final card of the day and it proved to be the winning one in the second flight. His score of 40 stableford points was one ahead of Ken Ponter with Davies's playing partner and Seniors Treasurer Allen Fellingham another point further back in third.

Contact | Copyright | Privacy | Site Map