Eurocams Sponsoring Top Golfers in 2018  

T&P team win Saunton Jug for the first time


TAUNTON and Pickeridge club captain Andy Willett, Phil King who was captain in 2017 and John Snell who held the post in 2016, along with director of golf Simon Stevenson made history last week when representing T&P they won the prestigious Saunton Joug.

The competition was competed for by 28 clubs from across the six West of England counties, team from each club is divided into a pair to play on each of Sauntonís East and West courses, at the end of which the scored from the better ball stableford were added up.

John Snell and Phil King scored 42 points around the East course and Andy Willett and Simon Stevenson scored 40 around the West course, giving them the best combined total and making them the winners of the Saunton Jug.

Fridayís Medal round was won by Jeremy Browne with an impressive net 63, John Foster was second with 68, ahead on countback of third placed Anton Hotham who returned with the same score.

On Tuesday the Ladies Section took part in the Monty Banks RAFA Stableford, named in honour of Flt Lt E H Banks MBE who was Captain of T&P in 1974, who donated the trophy. Everyone taking part paid an extra £1 entry fee which means that £40 will be donated to RAFA.

In the Silver Division it was Gill Shire with 35 points who was the winner, ahead of Carole Rotheram who edged into second place ahead of Heather Crump on countback after both scored 33.

In the Bronze Division it was Sarah Allan with 39 points, who triumphed, and also won the Monty Banks Trophy, Jackie Pike was second with 38, while Marlene Ewens was third on countback from Anna Rees after both returned with 37.

Twos were recorded by Heather Crump, Rose Jarvis and Janet Kingston.

The 9-Hole Stableford was won by Susan Gawne-Cain with 20 points one ahead of Jean Kennedy with 19.

Sundayís 3 Ball Open on Sunday attracted a field of over 80 players, who enjoyed the slightly cooler weather and excellent on course conditions.

At the end of the day it was Mary-Jo Shepherd, James Shepherd and Trevor French who were the winners with a total of 80 points.

Second place went to Georgia Richards, Pete Richards and Caroline Cooper with 73 points, while third spot was claimed by John Godley, Ian Sutcliffe and Glynn Webber with 72.