Home | Cricket | Football | Golf | Netball | Other | Racing | Rugby | Speedway | Clubs | Gallery | About Us | Contact | Links

  Enmore Park host the Ryder Cup  

ENMORE Park Golf Club hosted the ‘Ryder Cup’ mixed pairs competition on Sunday when the 48 entrants enjoyed a course that was in great condition and played a cocktail competition (6 hole Better Ball, 6 hole Greensomes and 6 holes Foursomes).

In addition, each pair were allocated a team – The Lady Captains (Julie Blumgart) team and the Chairman’s (Martyn Clapp) team mirroring the ‘real’ Ryder Cup.
The Pairs competition was won by Mike Sullivan and Anne Elliott Rose with 40 points, one ahead of Martyn and Tracey Clapp with 39, while Steve and Joy Maconnachie came third with 38.

This marked the end of a very successful season of mixed golf and was completed with a lovely buffet (thanks to Shelia Bowden).

On Wednesday the Ladies 18 hole Greensomes Stableford, which attracted 32 entrants was won by Rachel Johnson and Heather Neale with 41 points, Betty Edney and Fiona Ryan were second with 40, third place went to Christine Lewis and Julie Stafford on count back ahead of Irene Dickinson and Tina Morgan after both scored 37.

The Ladies 9 Hole Greensome Stableford was won by Paula Travis and Lorna Walker with 19 points, Ann Morrison and Hazel Percy were second with 16, while third place was claimed by Rosemary Harris and Christine Pashley on count back from Lorna Parker and Lynn Slocombe after both scored 15.

On Monday, Enmore seniors crossed the River Parrett estuary to visit their neighbours Burnham & Berrow GC where the visitors won two of the six matches.

Captain Peter Scott, partnered by Jeff Saunders, led from the front by dint of his sinking a putt from off the green at the final hole, won his game by 1 up, while the other success came in the last match when Rob Fear and Ray Lukeski, triumphed by 4 and 2

Thursday saw, 71 of the male members over the age of 55 or over playing for the Leffman Cup, that was presented to the club in 1970.

The winner was last year's Seniors Captain, Mike Sullivan who played a five under handicap round which gave him 41 stableford points, one ahead of Barry Smith, who edged into second spot on count back from Rob Loder, while fourth place went to Jeff Saunders.

The Junior Packer Trophy a 4 ball better ball Stableford for a junior plus an adult team that was presented by former Club President Mr J Packer in 1990 was won by Tom Canavan (Junior) and Mike Rossiter with 41 points, Alice Lee (J) snf Phil Hodge were second with 29, while third place went to Joe Young (J) and Jeff Saunders with 26.

Contact | Copyright | Privacy | Site Map